Red lentils & curry mash

Hi everyone!

In my last post, I said that I’m not such a big fan of soups. But I do like Indian style soup or puree, which I find very tasty and not too liquid.

DSCF5138

In London, there is a big choice of Indian foods, both in restaurants and supermarkets. I do recommend going to Indian buffets and restaurants in London if you are vegetarian and on a budget as it’s often quite cheap and there is a lot of choice of veggies and plant-based dishes. If you are a vegan, be careful as there are often eggs in pita bread, samosas and others or dairy in sauces.

As I don’t like to buy ready meals and sometimes it’s too spicy for me in Indian restaurants, I tried to create my own mash.

I tried to reproduce the taste of the last one I ate with lentils and curry and also tried to achieve a yellow color (which is quite easy using turmeric & curry).

If you prefer to achieve more a soup than a mash, you just need to add more water or coconut milk which I think might be grand. Tell me what you thought of this recipe and what you swapped!

Red lentils & curry mash

DSCF5121

DSCF5131 DSCF5127
Ingredients: (for about 3/4 persons)

– a leek (or an onion)

– a carrot

– 2 big potatoes

– 1/2 cup of red lentils

– 2 fingers of turmeric (or in powder if you don’t have fresh one)

– 1 tbsp of curry powder

–  About 3 cups of water

Method:

Cut potatoes in big chunks and put them with 2 cups of boiling water in a large pot during approximately 10 minutes. Stir from time to time.

Cut roughly carrot and leek. As you may have noticed on the photo, I leave the skin on the carrot as they are organic. Add them in the pot with the red lentils and the curry and add a cup of water. Stir well.

Add another cup of water if needed. My red lentils need 15 to 20 minutes, if yours need more you will need to add them before.

DSCF5130

At the end of the cooking, add turmeric, olive oil and salt depending on your taste. Blend everything using a hand blender.

I like to eat this as a side to rice and vegetables, but you can eat it as a main dish. Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

