Creamy pasta & broccoli

Happy new year everyone!

DSCF5223

Hope you enjoyed your first day in 2015 and are ready to eat more tasty food than ever before this year! Let’s start with a creamy pasta recipe. Yes, creamy and vegan. Hard to believe, right? I saw lots of recipes on the web with cashew soaked in water etc that I really need to try. But, as I do not plan my meals before having them, I never really have time to wait 12 hours to have cashews ready. Anyway.

I had a package of silken tofu for months in my closet. I didn’t know how to use it (I’m a big fan of firm tofu which I uses in burgers, stir fry etc.. but never try silken tofu) so I decided to try if it can taste like cream. And yes, it can! It was delicious! The texture is very lookalike to dairy cream but without the badness as tofu contains protein (8 gr for 100 gr) and no cholesterol (0 mg for 100 gr).

Okay recipe’s time!

Creamy Pasta & broccoli

DSCF5208

Ingredients: (For about 2 people)

– Half of a broccoli head

– 3 larges mushrooms (or 6/7 small ones)

– 2 cloves of garlic

– 250 gr of pasta (I choose wholemeal pasta)

– 175 gr of firm silken tofu (Half of a package for me of Mori nu tofu)

– To season: cumin, salt & pepper

DSCF5213

DSCF5215

DSCF5216

DSCF5219

Method:

Boil your pasta regarding package instructions. (I don’t think I need to explain more)

In the meantime, rinse broccoli & mushrooms. Cut the broccoli in little florets and put it on a skimmer above the boiling pasta. Let it cook for 3/4 minutes and set aside.

In a food processor, pour garlic and silken tofu and blend until smooth. Set aside.

In a pan, pour a little of olive oil and sauté the broccoli & mushrooms. then, pour the silken tofu & garlic mixture, mix and add pasta. Season.

DSCF5221

Aaand ready!

DSCF5225

Hope you like it, I personally love the creamy taste! Let me know what you think and see you next time for another recipe with silken tofu (to finish the package).

Leave a Reply

