B-R-O-W-N-I-E

Hey!

I just moved flats and now have a scandalous oven. But not scandalous in a good way! It’s a gas stove with an oven below. But without thermostat. And which heats only from below.

DSCF7035

As you probably noticed, I’m a huge fan of cake so that was kind of disappointing to see this ridiculous oven. Anyway, I tried no matter what to bake something in it and my first try is brownie. Of course.

And I’m surprised by the result which makes me very happy! Every recipe using the oven on the blog will now be only bake to 180°C big maximum. But that’s alright and this brownie makes it very comforting…

Brownie

(not my most original title but hey, it’s sufficient to itself.)

DSCF7016

DSCF7018 DSCF7017

Ingredients:

– 3/4 cup all purpose flour

– 3/4 cup natural brown sugar (you can reduce this amount)

–  1 tsp baking powder

– 1/2 cup cacao powder

– 1/2 cup soy buttery spread (I use Pure Soya)

– 2 tbsp golden flax seeds + 4 tbsp water (This replaces eggs)

– 1/3 cup walnuts (Or other nuts if you’d like)

DSCF7020

DSCF7022

DSCF7024

Method:

In a big bowl, mix every dry ingredient together: flour, sugar, baking powder and cacao powder.

Reduce to ground the flax seeds. I used a coffee grinder. Then whisk it with the 4 tbsp of water.

Add the butter spread and the mixture of flax seeds in the big bowl and mix well. Add the walnuts and mix again.

Put in the oven and bake for approx 25 to 30 minutes at 180°C. Okay again, I think it was approximately 180°C as I don’t have a thermostat in my oven!

DSCF7036 DSCF7038

Let it cool and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

